An inventory of types

The American hegemon has introduced a slew of new words into what used to be a fairly expressive language before its corruption, to capture the American version of social reality.  Let me list out the ones that come to mind.

Wimp

Nerd

Geek

Jock

Preppie.

I heard of a fraternity party at which there was a guy with various rubber stamps, stamping these descriptions on the backs of hands of the guests, thus slotting them into controllable categories.  I feel I have left out some of these new types, and if you, patient reader, can supplement my knowledge, I’d be most obliged.

I think it is in sociology departments that such such typologies are worked out.  I once knew of a chap, nice in most other ways, who had done a Ph.D in sociology.  After that, ostensibly to round out his education, he did another Ph.D, this time in economics.  Obviously, the degree in sociology had not quenched his thirst for true knowledge.  And if all the sociologists do is characterise otherwise harmless people as geeks and nerds, one can quite sympathise with above mentioned professor, now tenured.

Leave a Reply

