Validation

It’s one thing to have access to a great deal of data.  It’s quite another thing to validate that data.  How do we know that the data is correct?  (Must read 1984 again.)  I think the best way would be, as a first approximation, to bring the micro and macro number into coinsistency.  Start bottom up.  Start with, say, the population.  How do we know that number is correct?  And to top it all, there is genuine error and deceit.  Even here I know this because I saw it.  My own experience I can vouch for.  Maybe evil and error partake of a common nature.  My experience tells me that evil is often an error in the long run, and about error being evil-I don’t think we can go that far.

Leave a Reply

