Experiencing volatility

All disciplines have their proprietary vocabularies (Film making, mathematics, physics, economics, finance are some fields whose lexicon I know and love.)  And the terms of art have their outer and inner alternate meanings.

Three days into my new job, I feel I must report on a phenomenon that I have been experiencing since my college days in NY.  This is the fact of stress and the consequent volatility of the mind space.  Any seemingly trivial contingency seems to spark off an escalation of mind, which is further enhanced by what I can only describe, in the language of optimal control, as positive feedback.  The mind accelerates into levels of feeling (embarrassment, shame, even unto panic) which are far away from equlibrium (that state so loved by economists).

Yet now that I am at home, those states of mind seem farfetched and uncalled for.

Is it only me, or does this happen to everybody?  People higher up in the organization, do they experience even greater volatility, and thus are presumably paid much more in compensation?  Where is the locus of control, or the control sphere in the organization?  How does one model what appears to be a hive mind?

One Response to “Experiencing volatility”

  1. HyperActiveX Says:

    From what I’ve seen, it is generally believed that top management jobs require (among other things) the ability to handle ambiguity, volatility (not in the way I think you meant it – here it refers to the rapidly changing external environment), uncertainty etc., and shield their teams from it. Presumably, they get paid more because they can do this well, though it may appear that they don’t really have any core skills (of the kind people lower down in the pyramid do).

    I think the idea is to find equilibrium in chaos. It is a skill by itself. Perhaps an art form? I have the picture of a juggler in my mind. Probably address your question on control, albeit in a roundabout way.

Leave a Reply

